We follow the national early years foundation stage (EYFS) curriculum.  The purpose and aim of the EYFS is to provide the best start in life for every child where they are supported to reach their full learning potential.

The EYFS framework is based on four important principles:

  • A Unique Child – every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured
  • Positive Relationships – children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person
  • Enabling Environments – the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning
  • Learning And Development – children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and interconnected

The Learning and Development principle is divided into seven areas: 

  • personal, social and emotional development
  • communication and language 
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding of the world
  • physical development
  • expressive arts and design

For each area, the guidance sets out early learning goals broken down into achievable stepping stones. These goals state what it is expected that children will know and be able to do by the end of the reception year of their education.

We record each child’s learning and development at the pre-school by compiling an individual learning journey for the child which parents can view at any time and which goes home with the child at the end of each term and is intended to be passed on to the child's next early years provider when they leave us.